Children of Blood and Bone

Legacy of OrÏsha Series Vol. 1
+15
published March 6, 2018

Tomi Adeyemi

Tomi Adeyemi is a Nigerian-American writer and creative writing coach based in San Diego, California. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she studied West African mythology and culture in Salvador, Brazil. She is the author of Children of Blood and Bone.

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha)

Tomi Adeyemi’s West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Didn't find what you were looking for with 'Children of Blood and Bone'?

There are plenty more teen and Young Adult books to discover on the site.

We got extensive top ten lists of Young Adult books for 12 to 15 year olds and Young Adult books for 15+. In addition, there are lists such as the best Young adult fantasy books, Young Adult thrillers, romantic Young adult books, recent Young Adult and much more. If you look through these lists, you will definitely find a good youth book to read. Maybe your next favorite Young Adult novel.

Enjoy reading.